November 29, 2017

Dear CUPE Health Care Member:

After 48 days of bargaining, CUPE and its Coalition partners will be returning to their individual bargaining tables with their respective SAHO committees. No dates have been set at this point.

The Coalition bargaining committees presented SAHO with a “principles document” on October 17, 2017 in Moose Jaw that proposed that SAHO remove its concessions and attempted to narrow the scope of issues at the bargaining table. 

Since this time, this principles document has been the main focus of discussions with SAHO. Amended versions of this document were exchanged at the latest bargaining session that took place November 23 to November 27 in Saskatoon.

In a late evening session, your CUPE bargaining committee concluded that these discussions were not going to lead to a settlement that would include a fair and reasonable wage increase for our members, with no concessions.

CUPE continues to say no to concessions and rollbacks. Your bargaining committee is committed to bargaining forward, not backwards. A Letter of Understanding to review the Joint Job Evaluation Plan was agreed to and signed off on the first day of the latest session. No agreement, however, was reached on any other issues at the Coalition table.

We still anticipate the Saskatchewan Health Authority will be launched on December 4, 2017. The Coalition bargaining committees have been willing to discuss the many transition issues that will result from the replacement of 12 health regions with one provincial health authority. Unfortunately, very little time has been spent on these issues because the Coalition has needed to fight off the regressive public sector wage mandate.

You can join the fight by signing the new bargaining support postcards that our CUPE communicators and union representatives are distributing in the workplace. Your bargaining committee also greatly appreciates your messages of support and expressions of solidarity by wearing CUPE in the workplace.

Together we can bargain a fair and reasonable collective agreement.

In Solidarity,

Your CUPE Health Care Bargaining Committee

Sandra Seitz, Pearl Blommaert, Jim Carr, Nancy Black, Scott McDonald, Helen Sawatsky, Donna Krawetz, Brian Manegre, Wanda Edwards